St. Joseph’s Church
St. Joseph’s Church was built between 1912 and 1913 as the third catholic church in Olsztyn and the first one within the new district “Over the railways”. St. Joseph’s parish was created in 1924. The church was appointed the sanctuary of the Divine Mercy in 2009.
Fritz Heitmann of Königsberg was the architect of the building. He designed the Neo-Gothic church of the Holiest Heart of Jesus also. The new temple was designed as a Neo-Romanesque building of a Latin cross plan. Over the front façade there are two twin-towers, and above the crossing of the 3-nave body there is the massive main tower.
Inside, there are five altars, the most impressive of which is the Neo-Romanesque main altar with its bas-reliefs carved in oak wood. Genuine stained glass dating from 1912 and 1913 with images of the saints, the murals on the walls of the presbytery and an ornamented pulpit deserve a particular attention.
Around the church there is a unique Way of the Cross, the stations of which are brick chapels (from 1965). By the church there is also St. Joseph’s cemetery dating from 1904.